Year to Year: A Journal Through Time #11 – A Small Rant (4/1/19)

Recent headlines

World: Brexit: MPs debate next steps ahead of indicative votes (My two pence: If they don’t give us another vote, they’re ignoring democracy for their own ends)

Gaming: Co-op shooter rogue-like Risk of Rain 2 surprise-launches in Steam early access (And it’s HELLA FUN)


I’m going to be honest with you, reader: I’m pretty mad right now, and it’s for the most asinine reason. I’m mad because I presented a simple question to the internet and was met with hostility. Crazy, right? Who’s ever heard of that happening before? But when I asked r/PS4 if there was any way to boost the visibility of demand for the Ratchet and Clank original trilogy to be ported to the console, I was mocked for not knowing how game development works or how businesses are run.

“Well, it is reddit.” Right, yes, reddit has a proven record of being infested with toxicity and swathes of psuedo-intellectuals who all think they’re the smartest person around. But it’s not just a reddit problem. It’s an internet problem. Everywhere you look, self-assured cynics are spouting obviouslys and naturallys and generally patting themselves on the back for knowing more about the world than the perceived masses of the stupid and the naive. That’d be bad enough, but anonymity gives them license to be as hostile as they want, and cartoon avatars further distance any empathy these people would otherwise have, burying the fact that the person the spitting venom about videogames at are real people. Teenage Kristian would be mortified to hear me say this, but I would not miss anonymity on the internet if it went away. I’m that tired of people.

Anyway, er… besides that, my week’s been pretty good. It’s April 1st (hurr hurr April Fools, I fooled you into reading my regular weekly blog post) which means we’ve begun the month that has all the exciting things in it. Mostly I’m referring to the final season of Game of Thrones and Avengers: Endgame releasing, but there’s also Shazam!, Hellboy, the Borderlands remaster and more coming out this month. It’s a pretty rad month! And while I can’t think of much happening in May, I know that there’s more awesomeness approaching in the summer. It is a good time to be interested in the things I’m interested in.

Since I know that future Kristian is reading this, I’d like to update him on some contextual information: I’ve just decided to reformat the Roguelike Ramble into a style of livestream after playing Risk of Rain 2, I’m working on my first month of weekly videos where I spend an hour in a game and upload 15 minutes per week (it’s Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel, not that anyone knows it yet), and I’m currently binging all of the Legend of Zelda Game Grumps series that I can find. This might be interesting to you, dear reader, but if I’m being brutally honest this is just padding. Once again I’ve been blessed with a quiet week, and little to discuss. Don’t worry; the mind is never calm for long.


Further reading:

The Weekly Deathmatch #49 – Unreal Tournament – Real People Too Stronk

 

Leave a comment